Do We Need Homework?

Hey, world! It’s Lora.

It’s been a while since I’m thinking about something… My brain is stuck to one topic that I want to share with you – the importance of homework. It’s been studied for years and some researches show that it helps children and increases their knowledge and productivity. Do we need homework? I read so many different articles to see what people think about it. Now, I can finally share my own opinion.

Finland has one of the most successful education systems in the whole world. Do you think that Finnish children write homework? NO, they do not do it! But how are they still on the top? Learn by watching this short video below.

Finland’s Minister of Education says that they want Finnish kids to BE KIDS and have time to explore, play and learn. They have the shortest school days and their still #1! There’s actually so much more life around than just school, If we study all day, we won’t be able to enjoy life as much as we could, if we didn’t do homework. We can study and practice the curriculum while we’re at school and still have time for everything.

20161010-001.gif

I read an article, written by Meagan McGovern in Huffpost. I was impressed by her words and I think I have to share them with you. If you have time, please read her post!

In her article, she says that homework is only for the rich kids, because not everyone has things like markers and colored paper at home, or even a quiet place to study. “Homework is all about what a student’s home life is “supposed to” look like.” I absolutely agree with her opinion and I believe that the article she wrote really changed my whole vision about school.

Tell me about how you feel about doing homework? About spending so much time on it…time that could be spent with your family or friends. Is homework useful? Do we need it?

About Lora Veleva

Hello, world! I'm Lora and this is my blog. I am a 13-year-old hip-hop dancer with a passion for reading. Inhaling music. Exhaling art. Here you will read about my adventures in life. So what are you waiting for? Have fun, explore and enjoy! :)

Posted on October 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow, I actually never knew that we do better without hw. I guess hw is kinda like reviewing classwork, so I guess it’s a bit like studying for me.

    • That’s right! People think that homework helps us practice our abilities but when it’s too much, we don’t have time to develop our personalities and just be kids… 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  2. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for
    me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and for visitng my blog. I created the design myself and I’m glad that you liked it. I would love to see you here again. Best regards! xoxo, Lora

Leave a Reply

