Book Worm Rating ~ July

Hey, world! It’s Lora and these are my blog series – the “Book Worm Rating” in which I show you three of the books I’ve read each month + a book review. ❤ It’s summer now, so I have a lot more time for reading and exploring the local library. I feel like this is my speciality. 😉 Let’s continue with the books for this month…

1. “Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel” – Jeff Kinney

I’ve read all of the seven Wimpy Kid books that were published in my country. And I just want to be honest with you and tell you that they’re not my favourite ones. I think that they’re funny but you actually can’t learn any life lessons or useful things from them. I enjoyed reading “Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel” a lot, but the plot was almost the same as the previous books and it wasn’t as exciting as I expected. I learned a lot of new facts about the main character that the author didn’t include in the first six books.

The seventh book tells the story of Greg Heffley who is desperately trying to find a girl for the Valentine’s Day dance but luck isn’t on his side. An unexpected twist gives Greg a partner and leaves his best friend Rowley the odd man out.

“But a lot can happen in one night, and in the end, you never know who’s going to be lucky in love.” – Jeff Kinney


the magic finger2. “The Magic Finger” – Roald Dahl

I was so excited to read this book because it’s written by my favourite author of all times – Roald Dahl!! And it was the last children book by Roald Dahl that I haven’t read. So now as I finished it, I can confidently say that I have read all of them. 😉 I liked the story but it wasn’t as memorable or impressive as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or The Withes. The plot was quick and funny.

In the book, an eight-year-old girl tells the story of her neighbours, the Gregg family. The Greggs like to hunt just for fun but the girl doesn’t like seeing animals killed for nothing. She tries to talk to them about it, but the Greggs only laugh at her. One day, the Gregg family makes the little girl angry and she turns her Magic Finger on them. When she’s very mad the girl’s finger takes over. She just can’t control it! The family turns into birds and learns a very important life lesson…


3. “Pssst! Our secret – Ups, ist das peinlich!”

This book is from a collection of books by Thomas Brezina – “Pssst! Our secret” The first books from the series are published in 1999 but the author stops writing them in 2006. I’ve read all of the books and this one is #17.

I really enjoyed it because the plot is adventurous and exciting. The story is about three girls who have a mission to beat all the monsters that are attracted by magical crystals, hidden under their small town. An ugly frog, called Alexa is their mentor.

The girls’ life isn’t easy and it gets even more hard for them, when Krissi falls in love with the maths teacher… Things get bad but the teenagers know how to deal with the situation.


Hope you liked the books in the “Book Worm Rating”edition for July. I would love to read about your favourite summer book, so don’t forget to leave me a comment. Bye, guys! ❤ xoxo, Lora

About Lora Veleva

Hello, world! I'm Lora and this is my blog. I am a 13-year-old hip-hop dancer with a passion for reading. Inhaling music. Exhaling art. Here you will read about my adventures in life. So what are you waiting for? Have fun, explore and enjoy! :)

Posted on August 6, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow Lori it’s Toly !! I just first wanna say WoW, i love your English and i love that you read all these books and give good reviews on them and that you’re just awesome at this.I totally love the “Psst our secret” series!I’ve read all of the books and i just love your reviews.I’m looking forward to reading more books too so if you have any horror or fantasy book reviews please pass em round! Love you Lorii.

    • Yohooo! Toly!! ❤ I actually didn't expect to see you around (hahah) but I'm now reaaally happy that you've found my blog. Thanks you so much for your kind words. I appreciate your comment a lot. :)) Welcome to the "Book Worm Club" and stay tuned for new posts. Hope to meet you again soon! Hugs and kisses to all DMC dancers. Love youu! xoxo, Lora

  2. Fun books! Great choices! My kids loved them too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

